Deutsche Version
WeimarWeimarer LandJenaErfurtThüringen

The Bauhaus in Thuringia

The design revolution began in 1919 in the town of Weimar in Thuringia, where Walter Gropius founded the Bauhaus, the most important and most influential school of design of the 20th century.

Thanks to Henry van de Velde's activities at the Grand Ducal School of Arts and Crafts, Weimar offered the perfect environment in which the Bauhaus movement could flourish.

Modern architecture has its roots in the Bauhaus movement; works by Bauhaus artists and designers are considered icons of 20th century international design. In 1925, under financial and political pressure, the Bauhaus moved from Weimar to the industrial town of Dessau, where it was able to strengthen its focus on industrial production. However, the political pressure also became too strong in Dessau and after only seven years the Bauhaus moved again: to Berlin, where it was eventually forced to disband in 1933. Nevertheless, the emigration of many Bauhaus artists, mostly to the USA, meant that Bauhaus methods and doctrines soon won international recognition.

Today the Bauhaus legacy is still a strong presence in Weimar, Jena and Erfurt. Several buildings in Weimar and Dessau were declared UNESCO world heritage sites in 1996.

The Bauhaus and its artists have left their stamp on Thuringia: from the Bauhaus University and Bauhaus Museum in Weimar and the striking architecture in Erfurt to the 'Feininger churches' in the Weimarer Land region, there is plenty to discover.

Preparations are already underway for 2019, when Thuringia celebrates the Bauhaus Centenary!